Elements that are created from a geospatial feature service connection are not able to be deleted if the feature service connection is removed. When the connection is active, clear features works, but when the connection is removed the elements are unable to be deleted/ cleared.
Thanks for sharing your idea. I am marking this idea as "Already Exists" because the Delete All tool already provides this functionality once the connection has been deleted.

Regards,
Marjolaine Cayer
Product Manager
After feature service connection is removed, clear features tool has a message box "Clear Features: Command is not applicable when there are no feature services defined". There is another tool, Clear All Features that does work as intended.